Why I Paddle?

Why I Paddle?

I paddle for the amazing sunsets and spectacular sunrises that grace my outings. I paddle for that first wave, that first glide! I was hooked so hard that I went out paddle surfing for the next 30 days, until I could actually say that I was not a kook. I paddle for the great friendships that I enjoy during my paddling adventures. I paddle for that old Grumman canoe we launched through the surf again and again until she finally broke in two. I paddle for the thrill of the pursuit and the joy of the catch during my fishing adventures. I paddle for that first sip of Chai tea after loading the up the truck on a cool autumn morning. I paddle to train hard and get the best work out available in the great outdoors. I paddle for the time I was lectured by my instructor for not wearing my PFD during my first open water crossing to Gardiners Island. I paddle to get away from the pressures of work and family and enjoy quiet time in my own space. I paddle for the river trips, when we flipped our boats in the rapids, and our camping gear dumped everywhere from here to kingdom come. I paddle to race and challenge myself to be the best that I can be. I paddle for the thumping sound of pounding surf on the south side beaches while I try to get to sleep. I paddle to learn from the best in the paddle sports industry and continue to evolve my personal paddling journey. I paddle for the time we launched a leaky Dory boat into the icy bay in December and as she sank like a rock we scrambled back to shore like a bunch of frozen, wet surf rats. I paddle to experience the perfection of the most amazing down winders along our beautiful ocean beaches, gliding along the shoreline on peeling Southwest swells. I paddle to teach and share what I have learned in over 40 years on the water. I paddle for the time my board blew off the truck and floated down gently on the shoulder of the road. I paddle to seek out my own surf breaks and ride countless, off shore waves with no one else in site. I paddle to try out the latest gear, the best boats, boards and paddles, whenever I can. I paddle to spend time on the water with my lovely wife and family. I paddle for the countless wipeouts, shore slams, chute bumps and injuries that come from a lifetime of extreme water sports. The pain of these injuries is nothing compared to the drudgery of not being on the water. Mostly I paddle for fun and to feel young at heart. Perhaps the most compelling reason that I paddle for these days is to enjoy the hot shower, healthy meal and warm bed that awaits me after a rigorous and rewarding day of paddling.

Paddle Hard, Be Safe.

Rick

http://www.mainbeach.com

 

 

About mainbeach

The natural resource for surfing, stand up paddling, kayaks, lessons, tours, surf camp, beach wear and all things outdoors in The Hamptons, Eastern Long Island, Montauk and beyond.
This entry was posted in Beach, Hamptons, hamptons kayak tours, Hamptons Kayaking, Kayaking, Montauk Surfing, Outdoor Adventure, Paddling, Stand Up Paddleboards, Stand Up Paddling, Surf Boards, Surf Camp, Surf Lessons, Surf Report, surf shops, Surfing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I Paddle?

  1. reefwarriors says:

    could not have said it better. friends, family, sunsets, paddling makes it all better.

Leave a Reply

